4.—Prime Ministers since Confederation, 1867

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie. Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald. Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott. Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper. Rt. Hon. Sir Wickield Laurier Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden.	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878 Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891 June 16, 1891 - Nov. 24, 1892 Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894 Dec. 21, 1894 - Apr. 27, 1896 May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896 July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911 Oct. 10, 1911 - Oct. 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration) Oct. 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920	
11	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	(Unionist Administration) July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921 (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party")	
12 13 14 15 16 17	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King. Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King. Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King. Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurenr. Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker.	Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926 June 29, 1926 - Sept. 25, 1926 Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930 Aug. 7, 1930 - Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 - Nov. 15, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 - June 21, 1957	

5.-Members of the Eighteenth Ministry as at Sept. 1, 19581

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Norg.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment ²	Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio		
Prime Minister of Public Works. Minister of Finance and Receiver General. Minister of Veterans Affairs Minister of Transport. Solicitor General. Minister of National Defence. Minister of Trade and Commerce Minister of Justice and Attorney General. Minister of Agriculture Minister of Agriculture Minister of Agriculture Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Morther of Fisheries Minister of Northern of Minister of Minister of Malional Revenue Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys. Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources Secretary of State for External Affairs. Minister of Defence Production Secretary of State for External Affairs.	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker Hon. Howard Charles Green Hon. Howard Charles Green Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks. Hon. George Hees. Hon. George Randolph Pearkes Hon. George Randolph Pearkes Hon. George Clyde Nowlan Hon. Bowind Davie Fulton. Hon. George Clyde Nowlan Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness. Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough Hon. J. Angus MacLean Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. William J. Browne Hon. Paul Comtois Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton. Hon. Raymond O'Hurley Hon. Hennt Courtemanche.	Aug. 7, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957	June 21, 1957 June 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Sept. 13, 1957 May 12, 1958 May 12, 1958 May 12, 1958		

Any changes occurring between Sept. 1, 1958, and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.
 Appointee was not necessarily sworn in on date given.